Archive

Archive for December 10, 2005

NBA digital archives- how will they monetize it?

December 10, 2005 Leave a comment

I read an interesting article from News.com on how the NBA is working with Silicon Graphics to archive all of the game footage in the history of the league into a digital format. One of the goals of this effort (other than preservation) would be to enable consumers to access the footage on demand and create their own highlight videos. Sounds interesting, but how will they monetize it? Mark- any ideas here?

Categories: General

Cingular doesn’t deliver

December 10, 2005 Leave a comment

So after all of my complaints about how Cingular sucks, they do nothing. I’ve gotten no support from them and they are unwilling to provide any alternatives other than me using my broken phone, me paying full price for their crappy “free” phones, or getting a “free” phone in exchange for another year of terrible service. No thanks. My business going forward will belong to T-Mobile or Verizon, and Cingular has gained an evangelist. I’m now an evangelist for ABC-Anything But Cingular.

UPDATE: A friend of mine reminded me that I’m not emphasizing the real problem here. It is not Cingular’s policy, but rather the fact that they refuse to recognize the warranty on my phone. My phone was purchased in December of 2004, and they insist that the warranty started in September of 2004 and expired a few months back. The problem is that they’re placing an undue burden of proof on me for this warranty. I can show the charge where I purchased the item, but I can’t tie that purchase to my serial number. If I don’t have documentation tying those two together, they’ll provide no support. Again, I’m not asking for anything other than what they promise to provide- warranty support for the phones that are used to access their service. Certainly that isn’t too much to expect.

Categories: Uncategorized
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.